Living In a Villanelle

No matter where I live, I live alone

and though community should matter more

I only feel at home inside a poem.

I’ve never had a place that felt my own

and always dream I’m sleeping on a floor. 

No matter.  Where I live, I live alone,

and comfort ought to have a proper home―

though distance has its consolate allure. 

I only feel at home inside a poem      

and though I am in places like a stone,

life is moving―and I feel something sure

no matter where I live.  I live alone

with every moment I have ever known,    

and every form of poem becomes a door.

I only feel at home inside a poem,

and when I write I finally am shown

what people mean by home and not before.

No matter where I live, I live alone

I only feel at home inside a poem.

One thought on “Living In a Villanelle

Leave a comment